junebug

Gotta fix up my Jag

So I had to sell some guitars (money's tight of course) now my Jag is my only electric. I owe it to myself to get it in top notch condition. It's a great guitar, I love the feel of it, the tremolo, and even the neck pickup isn't so bad. But the electronics are hurtin'. It's noisy as anything. The rollers are so loud. I can barely adjust the tone or volume. And the bridge pickup has to go. I think a pair of 1/4 pounders would sound much better. So I guess I have to switch out the pickups and the controls. Honestly I've never done that before...I'm pretty handy I think but I never mess with my guitars. Guess it's a fear of #### something up!! And my budget is really low, so I have to find the lowest prices I can...

But I think this guitar can be killer if I put some money into it.

Any suggestions? Tips, websites, best prices...I'm sure all you guys mod your Jags.

Thanks in advance!!

l_ab618a31e2b86ae8d9e8075c126de97d.jpg

and what your specific complaints with the tone? also a good alternative would be to have your pickups rewound. smit's parts will hand rewind your pickups to whatever specs you want (qp's if you want) for 30$ a piece +shipping.

True, right I guess they're probably dirty.

Is there a good method to cleaning dirty rollers??

The bridge pickup has a thin sound to me. Going with the Quarter Pounders...

The bridge pickup has a thin sound to me. Going with the Quarter Pounders...

Well you have 1 meg pots in your jag which will make the pickup sound very bright.

I have Quarter Pounders in my jag and even after I installed them the sound was still

to bright and thin with distortion,it sounded great clean.What I did was install 250 pots and now it has the sound I need.

Also: have you tried adjusting the pick ups' height? That might thicken up the sound.

As for cleaning up the pots and everything, I'd just do a quick google search about electric guitar cleaning tips and see what you come up with.