Modding My Jagmaster

Hey everyone :)

I picked up a Jagmaster a couple of months ago and have been having some fun with it and decided to mod it. I picked up a couple of pickups, some 500k pots, caps, knobs, and a trem block. Pardon my ignorance but this is my first time working on a guitar and I've run into a couple of hiccups.

First, the string spacing on the tremolo block that I bought seems to be just fine, however the tremolo arm hole does not line up with the one on my bridge (I had assumed that it was a standard Strat deal since that's what I've seen online). Is there a specific part that I need to order to remedy this?

Secondly, the trem block protrudes past where the backplate would go. Is this going to be an issue or can I just rock without a backplate? Should I put a hole in the backplate just so I can put it back on?

Thanks

I'm not so sure about the first problem, but the second problem is because the body is supposedly thinner that a strat body.

Ahhhhhh. I've never played a strat so it wouldn't have been apparent to me. I put the trem back on and it seems fine except for the lack of arm mounting. I'll try it out like that--the replacement block has some serious heft compared to the stock one. There isn't too much additional distance for the springs so if anything it tightened up the trem a bit. I haven't played it yet because I have the pick guard off since I'm redoing some of the electronics. I installed a push/pull pot for volume (in hindsight I probably should have swapped out the tone pot but I'm terrible at desoldering) and I'm going to install some pickups that I grabbed online.

I couldn't find a part # or anyone selling the 3-way switch that's used on the Jagmaster. Would a Gibson LP switch work with the same size mounting hole? I'm trying to keep everything attached to the pick guard the same size so that I don't have to enlarge the mounting holes in that I want to put the stock stuff back in.