I've been playing my Jaguar for many years, and I've always struggled with the fact the Whammy bar [vibrato arm] swivels a bit too loosely in it's socket. If I don't keep holding on to it, it will drop down (with it's tip pointed downward), making it more or less awkward to get a hold of again later, in a song. I would like it to stay a little closer to horizontal most of the time, for more convienient regular use, and I've had partial, temporary, success with sticky silicone putty, but it leaves much to be desired. I'd be interested to hear if anyone else here considers this to be a problem, and what sorts of solutions have been tried.

You could have possibly stripped the socket, Im not an expert on Jag Trems but is it possible that you could replace only the socket without replacing the whole Trem? Even so, if you could, I would probably reccomend this as possibly a last resort, it may be expensive.

I believe it is two parts. (a top plate and the spring part below with the socket and the string stop piece.) Angela.com has them. Not hugely expensive if I remember correctly.

Really? Very well then! I just checked the site out, seems neat!

It has sh*t loads of parts. Nicer than trying to scavenge on ebay. Stumbled on it while looking for guitar info through different forums.

You could have possibly stripped the socket, Im not an expert on Jag Trems but is it possible that you could replace only the socket without replacing the whole Trem? Even so, if you could, I would probably reccomend this as possibly a last resort, it may be expensive.

No no no. I've got a '60s Jaguar. The socket isn't threaded. In fact, I've just replaced it. The socket is supposed to hold the whammy bar tightly, but it's not tight enough.

No no no. I've got a '60s Jaguar. The socket isn't threaded. In fact I've just replaced it. the socket is supposed to hold the whammy bar tightly, but it's not tight enough.

So it's working now?

So it's working now?