Sign in to follow this  
TheDumeister

Rewiring My Jag-Stang 500k Pots with Mustang Patterns HELP!

Hey guys! I'm totally new to soldering and wiring and all that, so I decided that my Jag-Stang will be the red-headed stepchild of my collection, and endure all my abuse.

I have decided to rewire my Jag-Stang like so:

ROUTING.png

And for some reason, I get the feeling I'm doing something wrong? My single coil has an output of 6.8k, and when I tap it with my pliers, I don't hear anything unless I turn my amp all the way up past-55%.

I'm still using a "dummy" humbucker until my GFS Crunchy Rail comes in the mail.

I researched on Google a little bit and found out that a no-load pot doesn't work very easily for volume control. I don't know anything about no-load pots, but just a suggestion and a place to start. Here is a page I found at Strat-Talk...

http://www.strat-talk.com/forum/tech-talk/39237-why-you-cant-use-no-load-pot-volume.html

Again, you may know more than me about no-load pots and know that this should work, but in case you bought the wrong pot I thought it was somewhere to start... good luck :)

I normally use linear taper pots. No idea what no load ones are.

+1, that's what I use, and I believe that's what most Fender's use, correct?

From what I gathered, the no-load pot is typically used for the tone control

and when it gets either fully clockwise or fully counterclockwise, it gives a little

click and that indicates that the pot is being fully bypassed, as if your guitar

was only set up with a master volume.

Sounds pretty awesome, and something I'd be interested in, but I can see

how using one for the volume pot would be difficult to wire properly.

+1, that's what I use, and I believe that's what most Fender's use, correct?

From what I gathered, the no-load pot is typically used for the tone control

and when it gets either fully clockwise or fully counterclockwise, it gives a little