Hello, my name is Derek and I've never posted to any forum before this so I'm sorry if I don't know the proper way to do this.

I found this guitar in a local pawn shop for $50 and the tag claimed it was a fender Jaguar. I knew it wasn't but it looked kinda like a mustang and was dirt cheap so I bought it. There is no info on the headstock and the neck plate has the fender logo with s/n 146774.

I will attempt to post a picture:

http://rs30.pbsrc.com/albums/c346/Derryk/Mobile%20Uploads/IMG_20150613_100819.jpg~320x480

And the neck plate:

http://rs30.pbsrc.com/albums/c346/Derryk/Mobile%20Uploads/IMG_20150613_100831.jpg~320x480

I plan on using this for my next project and any input would be greatly appreciated. Leave finish original, wiring ideas, should I try to restore it to factory, etc

Welcome to the forum, I'd say to take off the neck and see if there is a fender stamp and a serial number on it. Most likely it's a copy. It might just have a replacement neck. I'm no expert but most of the guys on here know their ####, hopefully you get an answer from one of them.

• Like 1

Wow! Cool find. It may be a Musicmaster body..

Looks like it's been routed a lot so that may even be hard to tell. If it's not routed too much then the stock body for a mustang would have routes above the pickup cavities to allow for those sliding switches. Plus a mustang body (with the floating bridge) would have the deep angled slots under the bridge location to hold the vibrato springs.

I finally got a day off work and took the mystery guitar apart and this is what I found:

http://rs30.pbsrc.com/albums/c346/Derryk/Mobile%20Uploads/IMG_20150619_101020.jpg~320x480

It looks to me like a mustang body but I could be wrong.

This is what was stamped on the otherwise blank neck:

http://rs30.pbsrc.com/albums/c346/Derryk/Mobile%20Uploads/IMG_20150619_101040.jpg~320x480

I've seen pictures of real fender necks with markings llike this. Do you think it could be a real fender mustang?